The history of
a hundred years of history
Florimont was founded in 1905 by the Missionaries of St. Francis de Sales. It is a catholic school that has been governed by lay people since 1995, working closely with the religious order that still owns the school and ensures that the major guidelines are followed.
Institut Florimont is a private catholic school open to all religions. We offer education from kindergarten through to entry to university. More than 70 nationalities are represented.
Since 2006, a major renovation project has been underway on campus to ensure that our school community benefits from the most up to date resources and a 21st century learning environment.
Florimont aims to ensure that every child achieves his or her full potential. In the words of Saint Francis de Sales: “We must not settle for good when we could achieve better”.
A few key dates
Founding of the Alumni Association and adoption of the coat of arms
Introduction of the preparation for the Maturité Fédérale Swiss School leavers examination
New buiding for the primary section
Knowledge, a priceless resource
Florimont’s archives are located in purpose-built premises. The knowledge contained in these unique and priceless books and documents is invaluable.
The collection includes the personal archives of Missionaries who dedicated their lives to spreading the catholic faith and the Salesian spirit throughout Switzerland, France and India. Part of the collection pays tribute to Florimont’s teachers and pupils renowned for their achievements in the arts, sciences and literature, as well as their acts of courage during both WWI and WWII.
Father Louis Favre, once Proctor at Florimont and a teacher at Ville-la-Grand, was shot by Nazis for helping refugees to cross the French/Swiss border.
Father Basile Luyet, a former science teacher at Florimont was at the forefront of cryobiology.
Constant Rey-Millet painted his first water colors at Florimont.
Today’s pupils are inspired by the examples of these former Florimontains whose experience, courage and achievements are emphasised in the tradition of the “Academie Florimontaine”, founded by Francis de Sales in 1607.
Whilst preparing for the celebration of Florimont’s centenary researchers found many valuable artifacts in the large library and museum maintained by the Salesian Fathers.
Current exhibits include:
- the papal bull of Pope Innocent X
- a letter patent issued by Charles-Albert of Savoy
- an illuminated missal dated from the 16th century
The archives are open to staff and pupils every Wednesday from 9-12.30
Contact Mrs. Lorenzi – Klorenzini@florimont.ch 076 370 1383